ABFM Family Medicine Certification

The Family Medicine Certification process, provided by the American Board of Family Medicine (ABFM), is the means by which the ABFM continually assesses its Diplomates.

The certification structure consists of four components, each designed to assess important physician characteristics that stress the importance of ongoing participation in activities that evaluate each of the following components between recertification examinations:
  • Professionalism
  • Self-Assessment and Lifelong Learning
  • Cognitive Expertise
  • Performance Improvement.

In early 2016, the ABFM announced changes to its certification process. For more information, view the winter 2016 and summer 2016 issues of The Phoenix.

In October 2018, the ABFM announced a pilot program to begin in January 2019 that will assess the value and feasibility of a longitudinal assessment option to the 10-year secure examination.

The Ohio Academy of Family Physicians offers the following programming towards your ABFM certification requirements:

Knowledge Self-Assessments (KSA)

Quality Improvement Modules

Note: Due to changes at the ABFM, the OAFP will sunset its modules at the end of 2018. Check back in early 2019 for the launch of a new initiative.