Columbus Physician Named 2019 Family Medicine Educator of the Year

June 26, 2019

Lauren Heberling
Communications Coordinator

The Ohio Academy of Family Physicians (OAFP) is pleased to announce that Ann M. Aring, MD, FAAFP, of Plain City, OH, will receive its 2019 Family Medicine Educator of the Year Award.

The OAFP annually presents the Family Medicine Educator of the Year Award to a family medicine educator who exhibits extraordinary, beyond-the-call-of-duty merit, encourages students to pursue the ideals of family medicine, participates in research, and is an inspiring leader.

Dr. Aring has been a family physician and educator for the OhioHealth Riverside Methodist Hospital Family Medicine Residency Program in Columbus, OH, for the past 22 years. In this role, she teaches and mentors family medicine residents, medical students, and junior faculty, while also providing full spectrum care for her patients. Her areas of special interest include obstetrics, pediatrics, behavioral medicine, and addiction medicine.

“I am a proud family physician and an even prouder family medicine educator,” said Dr. Aring.

“It is partially due to my experience with and education from Dr. Aring during my own residency training that I pursued an academic career in family medicine, as well as continued to provide obstetrical care and training to my patients and residents,” said Bethany D. Panchal, MD, assistant professor of family medicine at The Ohio State University (OSU).

“I am humbled by the understanding that scholarship is not only a commitment to excellence in patient care, but also a mission to impact and contribute to society,” said Dr. Aring. “Effective teaching is a skill which necessitates dedication to the learner and the profession.”

“She has a knack for distilling complex subjects into manageable teaching points, is an excellent role model regarding patient communications, and is skilled at providing actionable feedback to residents and students,” said OhioHealth Faculty Development Coordinator Jennifer L. Middleton, MD, MPH, FAAFP.

Dr. Aring has received numerous awards for her service in teaching including the 2018 OSU College of Medicine Courage to Teach Award and several OhioHealth Riverside Department of Medical Education Family Medicine Teacher of the Year Awards.  She has also previously received an American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP) Exemplary Teaching Award.  In addition, she received an AAFP Foundation Parke-Davis Teacher Development Award.

“While I also contribute to medical journals and textbooks, and present work at conferences, my true passion is the opportunity for daily interaction with residents and medical students,” said Dr. Aring. “I look beyond the surface of the person I am mentoring to visualize what they can become.”

She received her doctor of medicine from The Ohio State University College of Medicine and completed her residency at the OhioHealth Riverside Methodist Hospital Family Medicine Residency Program.

Dr. Aring will be honored during the Academy Awards Dinner on Friday, August 2, from 7:30-9:30 p.m. as a part of the Family Medicine Celebration at The Grand Event Center in Columbus, OH. Registration to attend the dinner is $50 per person. Reservations can be made through the OAFP website or by calling 800.742.7327.

Also during the awards ceremony, Jeff Bachtel, MD, FAAFP, of Tallmadge, OH, will be presented with the OAFP Family Physician of the Year Award and Christian E. Gausvik Jr., MD, will be presented the Resident Leadership Award.

To learn more about the Family Medicine Educator of the Year Award, please visit the OAFP website.

The Ohio Academy of Family Physicians is a statewide, professional association with more than 5,200 members, including practicing physicians, family medicine residents, and medical students. The scope of family medicine encompasses all ages, both sexes, and every disease entity. Family physicians provide comprehensive, continuing care to all members of the family. For more information, visit the OAFP website.


Editor’s Note
To receive a copy of Dr. Aring’s photograph or to schedule an interview, please contact Lauren Heberling. Photographers and videographers from the media are welcome to attend the Awards Dinner on Friday, August 2.